1999-10-19

yr not indie


I'm the middle of a speech purge these days. I have fallen into the trap of indiespeak. It took me long enough to wipe the superfluous "ummms" and "likes" from my vernacular, but I've replaced them with far more ubiquitous terms.

Comrades! Do your writings here, or anywhere else for the matter, make excessive use of the following words:

random, randomness, rant, rantings, ramblings, yr, yer, twee, scenester, i, u, fucken, rad, kewl, fuzzy, fluffy, linx, pix, peeps, ummm, uhhh, stuff, yay!

Stop! Stop it right now!

I can say this because I, too, am guilty of this lapse into cutie-pie diction. But I am ready to make a concerted effort to stop it. It's not clever, it's not effective, and most importantly - it's not revolutionary. There comes a point when you're just too damn old to be talking like an adolescent. Let it go, folks, let it go. I'm willing to start a support group, 'kay?

My webpage

Impossigirl

lisamcc at 09:07:59



0 comments so far

previous | next