1999-10-18

9 dollar Buds at the Glass Slipper

Ad's birthday on Saturday. The girls of the group decided, around 9:30, that we were going to take Ad to the Glass Slipper, the last shred of what's left of the once-infamous Combat Zone. I think Ad was horrified, but he put up a good-natured front.

In case any of you ever decide to go into a girly bar, you should be prepared to pay. There's no cover charge at the Glass Slipper, but a Budweiser will set you back 9 dollars. I can understand this.

I'm a gal who likes extremes. One minute I'm with Peter and Kev, discussing Thurber, the next minute I'm waving a dollar at a dancer in a black vinyl minidress.

I was at one point embarrassed, not because of my gender, not because there were naked girls bumping and grinding to TLC songs, but because Sherry, Robin and I were really sort of being more lecherous than any guy in the room. It was a remarkably respectful crowd, and the women who were dancing were all shapes and sizes...and were definitely in control. That was sexier than the fact that they were naked.

Spent yesterday feeling crappy. I thought maybe it was just from the late night and poor air quality of the bars we were at, but now I think it's a cold. Damn. I was bound and determined to not get sick this fall, and have curtailed my activities accordingly, but when your husband gets sick, it's hard not to follow suit. You're sleeping with Typhoid Mary.

My webpage

lisamcc at 08:58:31



0 comments so far

previous | next