1999-11-16

The EAP and the BCC

's'all I ever wanted...

In the last couple of months, my workplace has implemented what they're calling the Employee Assistance Program (EAP). Basically, if you're bunged up about something, work-related or no, you are allotted up to 5 sessions with an EAP counselor (completely confidential), to work out your problem. The nice thing about all of this is, is that it's 5 sessions per problem, which means that once you're nice and settled about one issue, you can up and get you another issue that needs dealing with, and it doesn't cost you a thing!

Some things I want to talk to EAP counselors about:

My irrational fear of revolving doors. Hate 'em. Will go out of my way to avoid passing through one. Usually a revolving door will be flanked on both sides by regular doors, and always these doors will be "handicapped use only." I want to explain that I have a handicap; I am petrified of getting stuck in a revolving door, or worse still, jettisoned out against my will from over-enthusiastic fellow revolving door journeymen.

Fear of Bridges. Probably this one is more common, more understandable, more "normal." Bridges scare the hell out of me.

I am convinced that the Boston Church of Christ is out to get me. Yeah, they're out to get everyone, I know, but I mean me specifically. There's one girl who tries to get me to attend this "artists' spirituality workshop," which meets on Sundays, every damned time I board the subway in the morning, seems like, because I guess I look like an artist in need of a heaping helpin' o' JEEEsus. She scares me. Surely she knows who I am, even though I give her a different name every time. It's horrible.

*******

In other news, my husband Kevin now has his own diary. Go check it out...

lisamcc at 12:40:36



0 comments so far

previous | next