2008-01-27

Reunion.

In 1993, through a series of random connections, I found myself involved with a group of utterly crazy, yet utterly driven, weirdos who all shared a love of rock opera. It was the perfect marriage of my two biggest passions at the time: theatre and local music, and there were times I would practically weep at my good fortune of falling in with them. I'd work with Boston Rock Opera in various capacities for the next ten years -- singing, costuming, filling giant bowls with Fruity Pebbles, glitter and glue -- and in the process made some pretty excellent friends.

It's hard for me to admit that I sometimes forget how blessed I am to have friends (some going as far back as high school) that have known me for as long as they have, but love me anyway. I don't know if it's a hallmark of the alcoholic, or someone with just garden variety shitty self-esteem, but there's a tendency with me to spend altogether way too much time investing in people who are just simply the WRONG people. I don't mean that they're bad or negative or destructive necessarily....a lot of times it's simply a case where they're just not meant to be in my orbit, but I try to force some kind of gravitational pull. I beat my head against the wall, figuratively, wondering how I can make them love me/call me/hang out with me. Like it's not enough that I have all these fabulous, funny, brilliant friends who seem to more than tolerate me, or something. Believe me, I am painfully aware how stupid and self-defeating this is.

I digress. I had a hell of a lot of fun performing in the BRO productions, which ranged from the all-too-familiar ("Jesus Christ Superstar") to the lesser-known ("S.F. Sorrow" by The Pretty Things; "Preservation" by Ray Davies). I laughed a hell of a lot, sang my ass off, and - uh - did probably a little more drinking backstage than was prudent. Oh, and I was very fond of flashing my tits backstage. I did this a LOT. In my defense, most of the women in the company did this. We did this the way others would give a thumbs-up or a high-five. Good times.

Last weekend, I had the great good fortune of being reunited with a bunch of these women (and a couple of the dudes, too). Time and distance has not lessened the ardor we feel for one another, as is evidenced by the photo of me dry-humping Susan immediately upon entering Linda V's kitchen:

The reason for this happy reunion was that Lynette was up from Texas. The first time I met her, she terrified me. Before long, we were grabbing one another's hooters. Lynette has one of the biggest hearts, and one of the biggest VOICES, of anyone I've ever met. Susan, Lynette and I constituted BIG TROUBLE in any show we appeared together in. We were Equal Opportunity Lechers, and no one was safe from our lecherous ways. For reasons various and sundry, we've all had rough summers, but we've all come through with our vile, thoroughly inappropriate senses of humor intact. I haven't laughed so hard in so long. Linda V nailed it when she called the whole evening "soul nourishing." Yes.

I miss all of these fucking pervs so much sometimes, I can't even tell you.





lisamcc at 8:13 p.m.



0 comments so far

previous | next