2005-06-20

Bear on the highway

Yesterday the houseboy and I drove out to Lynnfield for a little Father's Day get-together [I almost typed "soiree" here, but then I remembered the virtual fusillade of shit I got one day from Ad for misusing this word ("Hey, you wanna go see a matinee tonight?") and thought the better of it].

En route, I noticed something on the side of the highway. At first I thought it was a bag, or something, but as we passed it I realized it was a teddy bear.

I turned wildly to the houseboy, who fixed a steely gaze on the road as he said, "Yes. That was exactly what you thought it was."

"That makes me really, really sad," I said in a tiny little voice.

"Yeah, it probably fell out of a moving truck or something."

I threw my head back and wailed.

"Well, um, I'm sure that someone will pull over, and put him in the car and then take him home and clean him up and love him. Okay?"

I really should be locked away for my own good sometimes.

lisamcc at 9:15 p.m.



2 comments so far
Gimpy Old Lady
2005-06-21 06:38:52
Well...you come by it honestly, sad to say. Why do you think I'm having such a hard time "letting go" of silly, stupid but extremely meaningful little items from the past. Fluffy little teddy bears evoke childhood memories and, yes, a sense of loss. I'm sure "someone" stopped and picked it up and is giving it a good home. It's comforting to think that way...hang on to it.
-------------------------------

jean
2005-06-23 23:33:49
That teddy bear was fucking evil. It attacked a little girl with fang and claw after psychologically abusing and manipulating her for years in an attempt to rule her life and carry out its devious bear agenda through her, like it did with her mother and her mother's mother before. That bear is the reason why Bush was elected; it has passed herpes to 35% of the local populace; it facilitated the dumping of toxic chemicals into the charles river; and it forced Katie Holmes to convert to scientology with threats of paralizing the other half of her face. It jumped from the window of the little girl's car because she refused to jam a pen into her mother's jugular. It was searching for a willing host. Just be glad you didn't stop.
-------------------------------

previous | next