2004-12-21

Rock Star Birth

So this past Saturday was my niece's third birthday. 'Twas an afternoon fairly teeming with juice boxes, pizza, "Buzz Lightyear" and little, little kids, who -- as most of you know -- are ALL on some kind of acid. Really. I think there's some kind of gland that must go dormant after age 7 or so (although it can be kickstarted later in life now and then with appropriate stimuli; I, for one, can become quite the Acid Toddler if given a bowl of Lucky Charms and seated in front of back-to-back episodes of "Davey & Goliath.").

At any rate, a good time was had by all, particularly one of my niece's little "playdate" pals, a tow-headed youngster who entered the living room, dragging my brother-in-law's guitar behind him (it was easily as big as he was). He announced that he was going to sing "Happy Birthday" to my niece. The kid had to hold the guitar like an upright bass as he strummed and sang. It was hilarious, and when he was done he got a round of applause, and my niece threw her arms around him and gave him a big kiss.

Maybe I'm projecting, but honest to God, chickens -- you could see a little lightbulb go on over his head: "Lemme get this straight: if I play this guitar and sing, girls will kiss me?" It was very rather like watching the miracle of Rock Star Birth right there in my sister's living room.

Because, I mean, I'm certainly in it for the chicks...

lisamcc at 10:27 a.m.



1 comments so far
Houseboy
2004-12-21 21:44:43
It worked for me!
-------------------------------

previous | next