2003-08-09

Blar de blah blah

Sigh.

You know, I'm aware that I have not been as attentive to this diary as perhaps I should be. I jokingly complain that people don't check in when I've gone a while without updating, so when I got a guestbook entry stating that my diary has "declined in recent months," I immediately filed that under: "careful what you wish for."

I lost a good friend to a devastating illness, and yeah -- I haven't been up to writing my usual poppy self-deprecating tomes, in part because of this. Call it writer's block, sure. If you go back through the archives, I think I've proven again and again that I bounce back from life's little upsets.

Sorry if I'm being a bit shrill and defensive about this, but you know -- really now. I also fully understand that I need to develop a tougher hide....that this is to be expected when one publishes an online journal. As my father-in-law is fond of saying: "Ya gotta take the chunky with the smooth." Now granted, this is usually said in reference to bowel movements, but I think it applies to this situation as well.

A friend of mine -- this fabulous man who writes arts reviews by day and performs in drag by night -- always cuts me off when I start complaining about crap like this: "Oh, Cinderella -- your life is so hard." It used to infuriate me; now I find that I say it to myself when I start to get good and indignant about something that really does not matter in the long run. Now, I don't think I'm enlightened spiritually to the point where I'm thinking I oughta be grateful that people call me on it when my writing is not -- shall we say -- "up to snuff," but I'm working on it. So thank you for your thoughts, and uh, send money.

lisamcc at 2:51 p.m.



0 comments so far

previous | next