2000-11-13

Neglect

Neglect.

I'm neglecting everybody and everything that isn't directly involved with the show. Today, as I'm looking at two glorious nights in a row of not having to make myself up like a Kabuki anchorwoman and sing for two hours straight, I can get some other things attended to.

There's little to report. I got home after the matinee yesterday (the first time I'd been home before 1 AM in about two weeks), looked at Kev and felt like asking, "Who are you, mister?" Then I collapsed on the sofa, and watched Disney's saccharine treatment of "The Miracle Worker," knowing full well the whole time that it was saccharine - it featured that annoying little girl from the Pepsi commercials, for Christ's sake - and yet in my hysterical exhaustion I sat there and wept like a baby through the last half-hour.

I'm just in the fucking ensemble; I can't imagine what it's like for the guy who plays Jesus.

I find myself fixating on the spectacularly mundane: the cat's on hairball medication to keep her from being the vomit cannon she's been for the past couple of months. We need new vacuum cleaner bags, and I'm sort of looking forward to buying them. At work, I'm taking immense comfort in my current assignment, which entails looking up charitable organizations and downloading their application guidelines and 990-PF forms. Nice, tidy, quiet. I could definitely go into grant research.

I have recurring fantasies of being an Appalachian hermit -- coming into town once a year to buy groceries, then scurrying back to my hovel which, in fact, would be fully equipped with all my personal needs: VH-1, internet access, 365 pints of Jack Daniels, and a microwave.

lisamcc at 16:02:00



0 comments so far

previous | next