2000-11-08

President Who?

I'm just in a blind animal panic today; have been, actually, since Monday. Most unpleasant and unsettling.

It might be a thyroid thing; my mother keeps telling me I should get that checked out.

Or it just could be the way I'm wired, no pun intended.

I woke up every hour on the hour last night, nudging Kev and whispering: "Who won?"

"Nobody's won yet, Lees. Go back to sleep..."

So then I would lie there, listening to my heart hammering in my chest, until I fell off into a sort of half-dreaming state only to jerk awake again and repeat the same question.

This morning I got the puking whirlies while sitting in my reading chair watching CNN and just vibrating in my mania, barely able to keep my coffee down. I was retching in the bathroom sink when Kev came up behind me and asked, "Jesus, Lees - are you gonna make it?"

"It's just...I...ohhhhh...it's just I've got a performance tonight and a staff meeting today and I don't even know who our goddamn president is going to be!!!"

Then I burst into tears.

There are some things I just need to know are going to happen. I'm not in control of much, as none of us are, really, but on November 8th I need to know who-the-fuck got elected, so I can keep my daily neurotic obsessing in check.

lisamcc at 20:30:41



0 comments so far

previous | next