2000-07-10

Goff Daze

That's DEEP.

Slowly but surely, I have been replacing all of the cassettes I bought in college with their CD counterparts. Yesterday I went to Hi-Fi and bought Peter Murphy's Deep album. Giddy, I came home, had a shot & a beer, put the CD into the stereo and --BLAMMO!-- I was immediately transported back to my sophomore year, dancing around my dorm room with my roommate Katie, shrieking "DEEP ocean...VAST sea...that's DEEP!" much to the horror of the other students on our floor (1989 being the year of Milli Vanilli and Club MTV dontcha know. Wubba wubba wubba, indeed.).

Oh, boy. How much fun was it to be the only two goths in a 30-mile radius, stuck in this tiny Benedictine liberal arts school smack dab in the middle of rural Florida. I mean, besides the vats of 45+ sunblock I had to use in order to maintain my pallor, it was also impossible to get any decent records unless you knew someone with a car. Fortunately, Katie did have a car, a baby-shit-green AMC Hornet. When Deep came out, we made the 40-minute trek into Tampa to get it, appropriately enough, at The Alternative Record Store (remember when "alternative" actually meant something, kids?). Contraband! We blasted it through Katie's car stereo all the way back to Cowtown, united in our unrequited lust for this skinny bleach blonde with a voice like Yul Brynner on heroin. Woohoo!

lisamcc at 13:11:26



0 comments so far

previous | next