2000-06-04

My New Cult.

So do I have any takers for my newest project -- The Cult of The Valley of the Dolls?

I verbally bullied Jess into reading it this week. Last night, while we were watching Paula's set at the Kendall, Jess eyed me with joking hostility. "So I read Valley of the Dolls..."

"And?"

"Jesus, Lees...it really pissed me off! I closed the book and I was just sitting there, like..."

"What? What?"

"It was SO DEPRESSING! I hated all the men! Like: 'You're going to marry me.' 'No, I can't; I don't love you.' 'That doesn't matter -- you WILL marry me!' Oh my God, it made me so mad! I finished the book, and I was so depressed, I had to tell Rick the whole story. He was cool and pretended to be interested."

"So then you liked it."

"Yeah. I guess I did, yeah. Oooo - can we rent the movie? You wanna come over and watch it with me?"

So there's Jess...recruited. I'm pretty sure The Marquis is in, too. I need more members. We'll have quarterly meetings where everybody has to come dressed as their favorite character. Jess and I are torn between Neely O'Hara, the foul-mouthed, Scotch-swilling kid-from-the-wrong-side-of-the-tracks-turned-beloved-singing-star and Helen Lawson, the washed-up, wig-wearing, perpetually-horny dimming Broadway luminary. I have a feeling that these meetings will turn up lots of Neelys and Helens, because, as Jess puts it: "Who would want to be Anne?" (Anne being the long-suffering, goody-two-shoes, always-do-the-right-thing cosmetics model who ends up getting royally shafted by novel's end.)

I am so all about this cult.

lisamcc at 16:42:45



0 comments so far

previous | next