2000-04-19

The Anxiety Diet!

Yeah, right...

Did I mention how stressed I've been lately?

Stressed enough, apparently, to drop somewhere in the neighborhood of 10 pounds through agitation alone.

I was at band practice the other night when Dave suddenly piped up, "Lookatchoooo! You've lost some weight."

"Yeah, I've been so stressed out at work, running around..."

"Uh-oh...Lisa's on the Anxiety Diet!!!"

The Anxiety Diet, also known in select theatrical circles as the "Production Week Diet." Food? Who needs food? Just gimme another damn cup of coffee and my cigarettes...we got a show to get off the ground, here.

A gander through my photo albums will reveal an array of various body weights. I can usually tell if a photo was taken during the final week of rehearsals -- I look dazed, exhausted and hysterically miserable. From mid-run to final curtain of a production, I'm flushed and fat with after-show beers and fast food.

I have a pair of cut-offs I wore my senior year in college (when all I basically lived on was Top Ramen, multi-vitamins and Stoli). I keep 'em handy, some 8 years later, to gauge my stress levels. If I can fit into them, I'm on the Anxiety Diet.

The Anxiety Diet! Burn calories just by fidgeting at your desk! Drink lots of coffee and snarl at people! Blink in utter bewilderment as your bandmates tell you how hot you look!

lisamcc at 17:01:05



0 comments so far

previous | next