2000-03-02

Self-pity cannibalism dirge puke blah

Adolescent girls are terrifying. I was scared of them when I was one, and I'm still scared of them.

I'm thinking now of a beady-eyed, evil girl I went to "Catholic" school with, who made my adolescence even more of a vertiginous wretching horror than it normally would have been. Despite the fact that her father is now in jail for numerous white-collar crimes that shan't be discussed, the whole "what comes around goes around" thing is an inadequate salve every now and then. Blah. Who wasn't miserable at 12? Forget I even said anything...

On a related note, I have a zit. I never had zits as a teenager, and here I am almost 30 with a big neon honker pulsating on my chin, going, "look at me! look at me!"

Funny how I remember desperately wanting things like zits and cramps when I was 12. I'd watch those Stridex commercials where smooth-faced girls would wipe themselves down with a medicated pad that looked suspiciously like a Communion wafer and then stick it in the camera, revealing dark gray smudges, and crowing: "it cleans deep down!" Piqued, I went to the drugstore and purchased a box. Scrubbed with one. Nothing. Scrubbed with another. No smudges. Surely I would never be a teenager -- where were the tell-tale filthy pores? I took another, and rubbed it on the bottom of my foot, producing the desired dirty effect, and emerged from the bathroom, triumphant, to show my soiled Stridex to my assembled girlfriends.

Reprint! Well, so I've cannibalized my own work. Now I can rest easy...

"I want all the luxuries of the Modern Age / Every item on every page / in the Lillian Vernon catalog."

Hedwig & the Angry Inch

lisamcc at 23:38:43



0 comments so far

previous | next