2000-03-05

Vacation!

Isn't she?

I'm on vacation! I'm on vacation! I'm on vacation!

Oh my dear, sweet, gentle Lord...I can't believe that I am actually on vacation. I have not been on vacation since Kev and I got married (a year and a half ago).

Tonight I'm feeling unsettled. I don't think I remember how to be on vacation. My office-mate Kellie, sensing this on Friday, instructed me: "Do not check your voice mail. You are on vacation."

I know, I know...but it's so haarrrrrrd. I have been in panicky work-mode now for 18 months. I don't know what kind of dire crisis would befall the Theatre in my absence -- nothing, most likely. There'll be a week's worth of mail, memorandums and invoices waiting for me on my desk. There'll be 10, maybe a dozen voicemails, three of them involving the Asst. Costume Manager's niece and the upcoming Girl Scout Cookie order.

Okay, fine. You're on vacation, Lisa; relax.

In my current state of spastic ennui I can't decide what it is I'm supposed to do, this relaxing. I am perpetually wired. Even when I'm asleep, my feet rub together. I figure I burn somewhere in the neighborhood of 450-500 calories a day just fidgeting, blinking and twitching. My old roommate Marla once did my astrological charts for me: I'm a Virgo with a Cancer ascendant and a Pisces moon. "That explains a lot," Marla muttered, looking at me as she informed me of my status.

"So...what," I shrugged, "I mean, what does that mean?"

"It means that you're basically a spazz."

So tomorrow is Monday. I'll be able to sleep in. Then I think I'll watch all of my John Hughes movies. Cry like a baby at the end of Pretty in Pink. Wonder why my senior year wasn't like that. Get depressed and clean my closet.

Wednesday we're going to New York City. I'm going to visit the Algonquin Hotel, on 59 West 44th Street and drink a highball to Dorothy Parker. And then, for similar academic purposes, I'm going to the offices of The Sterling/McFadden Partnership (233 Park Avenue South), publishers of my favorite literary enema, True Story Magazine. (For any of you Dorothy-philes who may sneer at this, shut the hell up: Dorothy Parker was an avid watcher of "As the World Turns." She would applaud this pilgrimage.)

There are other cultural needs I must fulfill while there: I want to go see Dame Edna. I want to see Hedwig at the Saint James, even though I've seen it twice here in Boston. I want to hold a neon-pink piece of posterboard bearing the childishly scrawled announcement: "Im carying Justins baby!!!" in front of the MTV building in Times Square during "Total Request Live."

It's going to be a fucking blast.

lisamcc at 21:22:43



0 comments so far

previous | next