2000-02-25

Bad Songs Say So Much

Bad songs say so much...

With the infernal Hamster Dance Theme still stuck in my brain (I'm convinced that it's causing a hemorrhage that will eventually kill me), my thoughts have turned to finding a way to get it out. Kev claims that replacing it with the theme to Hawaii Five-0 will do the trick. But then -- what? -- I'm stuck with that instead? It hardly seems like a reasonable trade-off. I got to work, and promptly went down to the Marketing Office to whine about it to Kristina, who always listens with gentle, bemused patience to my frequent rants. She heard that "Beat It" not only will purge a bad song from your brain, it also will not leave any trace elements. In short, "Beat It" is a virtual bad-song-in-your-brain enema.

Problem is, the Hamster Dance Theme is a most insidious ditty. No sooner had I wiped it out with a powerful dose of The Gloved One, it came creeping back with its perky little "deedle deedle deedle" resolve. I'm beginning to think it's like herpes; I'm stuck with it.

I had an intern named Michele who took immense pleasure in putting crappy songs in my head. She would even call me on the days she wasn't working:

phone rings

Me: "Development. This is Lisa."

Michele: "'Someone left the cake out in the raaaaiiinnnn...'" click

Me: "AAAAAAGGGHHHH!"

I have not let Josh in on this. I have been enjoying the relative peace...

lisamcc at 13:27:20



0 comments so far

previous | next