2000-02-24

Hamsters AGAIN?!

Did I say you could stop dancing with the hamsters?  NO!  Keep dancing!

Dances With Hamsters, Pt. II

Apparently yesterday's entry about the dancing hamsters struck a nerve with my Loyal Readers. I received no fewer than 5 emails this morning about it, some praising me, some damning me eternally. What follows is an email exchange from this A.M., between myself and the Marquis (in italics, of course) --

***********************

On Thu, 24 Feb 2000 01:54:15 Marquis D�j� D� wrote:

Ohgoodlord! I had successfully blocked the hamsters from my mind. I don't know whether to thank you or damn you for bringing them up again.

Oh, mais oui, you must THANK me. The hamsters bring a certain degree of surreality to one's workday, non?

The song is on repeat in the background. It's 1:30am. I hope no one can see me.

Why? Are you nekkid?

That damn song sounds like someone switched a Roger Miller LP onto 45 and gouged a groove that makes it jump.

And what's with that sinister little "heh heh heh" at the end of the loop? It's as if the hamster KNOWS the hold it has over you, even as it "sings" its innocuous little ditty.

But, then, is it the hamster that's singing? And which hamster? Is it, like, the HEAD hamster? The Deus Hamustro Supremus?

Or is it some other, unseen presence? Rodent? Man? Machine?

The mind boggles.

Good God, I'm deconstructing the Hamster Dance Page. Somebody shoot me...

lisamcc at 12:37:06



0 comments so far

previous | next