2000-02-04

Kind of kind, kinda

Here she is - Miss Congeniality!

So after emerging from my deathbed this morning, still feeling rather gronky-yet-able-to-function, I realized that in my decongestant haze I'd forgotten my father's birthday. I called from the office, ready to atone for my sins: "Hi, Dad?"

"Christ, you sound awful. Are you at work? Whaddare you doing at work?"

I honestly hadn't meant to use my illness as an excuse. Yet here was my benevolent father, leaving the door wide open: "I'm sorry I missed your birthday. I've been, uh, sleeping a lot."

"Well, you sound terrible. You should go sit in that steam bath they got there, at the Y. Clean you right out."

Aglow in forgiveness, I went online and discovered that I had garnered an honorable mention as one of the "kindest" music personalities in Boston. Isn't that sort of like getting Miss Congeniality? I don't feel especially kind most of the time, and certainly somebody who forgets her father's birthday while in a Vaporub stupor wouldn't merit such a title. But, hey -- I'll bite. It's nice to be thought of in such terms. I just wonder if that makes me boring, or something...

lisamcc at 11:33:03



0 comments so far

previous | next