2000-02-01

Wheeze...

Say ACKPTH...

Guess what? I'm still sick!

Today, I felt bold. I went out and got me the cherry flavored Nyquil, which, I'm saddened to say, does not taste any better than the Original Flavor, but it is a lovely shade of blood red, which of course appealed to my long-dormant Gothic tendencies.

Another thing that always comes to mind when I'm sick is the phrase "productive cough." I first heard it a few years ago, when an untended-to cold of mine developed into a full-blown nasty-ass bronchial infection. The nurse took my stats, asked the usual questions, and then sprung this one on me: "Is it a productive cough?"

"Uhmmmm, I'm not sure what you mean..."

"Are you coughing up phlegm?"

"Yeah."

"Then it's a productive cough. So what color is it?"

"'It'?"

She was clearly losing patience with me. "The phlegm. What color is it? Is it green?"

Medical jargon like that just tickles me. I filed it away for future reference, along with "rotated canine" (which I overheard my dentist say, in reference to what I call my "fang") and "bland affect."

So, in case you're wondering, my cough is now productive. I am a veritable snot geyser.

lisamcc at 17:15:15



0 comments so far

previous | next