2000-01-13

The Art of the Highball

What'll you have?

Bourbon Highball: 2 oz. bourbon, ginger ale, lemon. Fill a highball glass with bourbon, ginger ale, and ice cubes. Add twist of lemon peel, if desired, and stir.

I've been on this Christly awful highball jag lately, which came to a head at the Krebstar show last Saturday, when I ran around the SkyBar in my Jackie Kennedy outfit handing out plastic frogs, dinosaurs, and random gumball machine toys to everyone, regardless of whether or not I knew them. It's no wonder that people regard me in the same bemused fashion as one might view, say, a Scottie dog in a sweater.

Understand, though, that it would not take several highballs, or even one highball for that matter, for me to dress like Jackie Kennedy, and the fact that I had pre-packed all the toys in my purse prior to heading out, leaving scant room for my tube of "Wet-n-Wild" #508 and my compact, pretty much sums up my sober self.

So it finally snowed today! That made me happy. I don't have to drive to work, so it's no hardship for me to trudge through snow to the subway station, and the overall blustery feel of the day propelled me out of my office this morning to get a cup of mint hot chocolate from Cafe Expensive (I can't stand that machine dreck from places like Dunkin' Donuts; if you're gonna splurge, then for God's sake splurge.).

This Saturday is Boy Wonder's last show. Sad.

Well, nothing earth-shattering here; I need some kind of spastic crisis to happen, I guess. Careful what you wish for...

lisamcc at 21:32:35



0 comments so far

previous | next