2002-07-17

Someone's gotta know....

Well, chickens, I'm back from vacation, and in my new digs in the basement across the street from the previous basement.

Okay, yeah, I'm still in the basement (or "the garden level," as it's now being called), but boy howdy, I walked in there on Monday morning and nearly wept with joy.

Carpets. Ergonomically-correct office furniture. A break room that isn't crammed into a closet with the postage meter and copy machine. It may not seem like much to those of you who work in the for-profit sector, but I feel like I've moved up in the world, man. It's like I'm in a grown-up office now, although I promptly bedecked my shiny new cubicle with action figures, PEZ dispensers, plastic leis, and pictures of Morrissey.

The downside to all of this is that we are located directly underneath a Store 24. I find this particular Store 24 fascinating for a number of reasons, not the least of which is the decidedly unflappable day manager, who bears a distinct resemblance to Mr. Clean.

Lately they've been running this deal where a cup of coffee -- any size -- runs you a mere 24 cents (25 cents including sales tax). You can't beat a deal like that, even if the coffee tastes like ass, so lately I've been chugging the stuff with the zest previously reserved for Johnnie Walker Red.

I'm really excited about the cheap coffee, even though I could certainly take advantage of our new, grown-up break room and make all the coffee I could possibly want for free. I go in there, like, eight times a day now, and you know, I figure I'll be best buds with Mr. Clean by the end of the week, because I've gotta ask him something that's been bugging me for a very long time now: why do convenience stores keep the tunafish behind the counter? As a matter of fact, I asked this very same question in this very same diary over two years ago, and I still haven't figured it out.

lisamcc at 8:54 p.m.



0 comments so far

previous | next