2002-07-18

God Bless Anna Nicole Smith

I'll say it now, before the "reality series" hits and it becomes the topic of choice for many of my contemporaries. I'll say it now, because I mean it, chickens, and I want to make it perfectly clear that I have felt this way for a very, very long time.

God Bless Anna Nicole Smith.

How can I possibly begrudge this lurid, cotton-candy-hued, gossamer goddess anything? Her job is, simply, to be Anna Nicole Smith. That's what she does. Somebody has to do it.

Knowing that while I go about my day-to-day business, pushing piles of paper to and fro, Anna Nicole Smith is lounging about in her shell-pink boudoir eating pickles and Cheez Whiz, comforts me somehow. It's as if balance is the order of the day and all is as it should be.

I don't even entertain the notion that Anna Nicole Smith is smarter than she is letting on. It's not that I don't believe that this is a possibility, it's that I don't care. She is what she is. Don't try to analyze Anna Nicole Smith. Anna Nicole Smith is just an indefatigable fact, as solid and immovable as granite. Perhaps there is something behind it all, but does it really matter, chickens?

lisamcc at 8:18 p.m.



0 comments so far

previous | next