2002-06-05

Caroline Knapp R.I.P.

Caroline Knapp died.

I feel as though someone I knew personally has died. I can't tell you how many times I read "Drinking: A Love Story" right up until the day I decided I needed to stop. I want to run down the street screaming.

It's not fair.

I hadn't accumulated enough sober time. I never got the chance to thank her for being so brave.

You know what's fucked up? I want a drink. I hate that it's 2:30 on a workday and I just want to go somewhere and drink and cry over someone I never even knew.

I don't care anymore what certain people think about the direction in which this diary is headed. Caroline Knapp's writing helped me to see the fatal path I was taking, and if I can serve in a similar inspirational capacity for someone someday, then so much the better.

lisamcc at 2:36 p.m.



0 comments so far

previous | next