2002-03-02

Bitter City

Well, the month of bombastic suckitude has passed and I'm going to try really hard to make March a good 'un, or -- at the very least -- if it turns out to be every bit as putrid as February was -- I'm not going to let it get me.

I actually listened to the Indigo Girls last night, something I hadn't done in many years, since I became a stone indie pop snob, which prompted a few snide remarks from the houseboy.

I think he thought I was drunk.

It's true; for the most part I really can't stomach "contemporary folk," primarily because I spent a good chunk of time immersed in the "scene" surrounding it: a whole lot of ego-and-crystal-stroking, and not particularly good songwriting.

Frankly, I'm just too mean. Let's call a spade a spade. I'd like very much to sit in my kitchen in the morning, sipping tea in a hand-thrown mug and watching the sunlight dance across the table as I listen to some Christly awful folk showcase on college radio, thinking stuff like, "Wow, how introspective." But I can't, and God knows I tried for a while. I'm not wired that way. I'm just a hateful little spore, the Mayor of Bitter City, population: one.

But I did listen to the Indigo Girls last night, and I actually did enjoy some of it.

lisamcc at 11:22 a.m.



0 comments so far

previous | next