2001-09-25

An explanation

I got a couple of random, anonymous comments on my previous entry, along the lines of: "How dare you revert to your petty, pop-culture ramblings when there's so much suffering going on?"

Chickens, there is always suffering. I invite you to explore what the majority of Afghanistan's population has had to endure under the Taliban's rule well before most of us even knew how to pronounce "Taliban." It is not my job to function as a voice for the sensitive and politically correct. I am as saddened as the next person not directly affected by the attacks of September 11th. I have gone through my anger and confusion, as Diaryland's resident Hipster Catholic, and have come to the conclusion that God, as I have come to perceive It, has been crying along with us from Day Fucking One. Free Will and all that. The world is an Unfair Place. God knows it, and by the time we're six or seven (sometimes even younger), the rest of us become aware of it as well.

I have felt the presence of God. as I have come to understand it, as recently as this morning, when I walked to the subway and encountered two policemen questioning a guy in a Perry Ellis "America" shirt, while two more policemen comforted a woman in Islamic dress further down the platform.

It's not my place to tell you What's Right and Who Is God and Why Would God ALLOW SUCH A THING TO HAPPEN. I've only recently come back to the faith I was brought up in, and I struggle with it, as an Old-Punk-Feminist-Bisexual-Eating-Disordered-Zinester, every single day. I know what I feel in my heart. If I need to distance myself and put on the "lisamcc" suit, I do that.

lisamcc at 5:54 p.m.



0 comments so far

previous | next