2001-08-27

I love daytime TV.

Day One of my final vacation for the summer. I really don't have too many plans other than catching up on laundry and maybe playing tourist in my own town (I recently discovered that my place of employment is part of a "consortium" that allows me to go to major museums/tourist destinations for free, so long as I cough up one of my business cards and a valid ID).

Today, though -- Jesus Christ -- I had this major revelation in the laundromat as I folded towels and got sucked into this soap opera.

Port Charles. Sweet Lord, as Jess would say. This is just serving as more proof that I need to be fabulously and independently wealthy. Somebody needs to give me some kind of glorious advance for my dubious writing and/or drumming skills, and now.

I need to be home during the day so I can watch the special kind of dreck that is daytime television.

Here's what I was able to figure out over the din of the dryers: Port Charles has a serious vampire problem. Lucy (who I seem to remember was a vaguely psychotic homewrecker on "General Hospital" many moons ago) is apparently some kind of slayer. More importantly, though, there are a couple of lovely younguns who are under the spell of some head vampire. In the scene that ultimately won me over, one of them decides that a "ginger ale actually sounds pretty good right now." One of the other lovely younguns squeals: "Could it be that you're starting to break away from his spell?!" Awesome. Canada Dry saves the day.

Calls to mind the good old days of "GH," where preposterous story lines were king. I mean, who here remembers The Ice Princess?

lisamcc at 1:24 p.m.



0 comments so far

previous | next