2001-07-09

Shadow of the Dolls

I'm on vacation. It's amazing. The first full week off I'd had in over a year.

I don't know what to do with myself. I got up this morning, made coffee, read the paper, and tried to avoid doing two things:

1) checking my office voicemail.

2) turning on the television.

Well, I went a good two hours without doing either, but just now as I was waiting for the computer to boot up, I turned the t.v. on, and lo & behold, the Ultimate Mindsuck, Jenny Jones! Surprise Surprise -- today's topic "My Wild Teen Is Out of Control! Please Show Clips of Her Twitching Around in Vinyl Hotpants and a Tube Top While Hurling Invectives at the Audience! Then Let's Pretend to Send Her to Boot Camp!" That's some compelling television, chickens.

Is it just me, or does Jenny Jones always sound like she's just about to have an absolute breakdown? There's this hysterical pitch to her voice: "Chaqueta, you think your sister is a hoochie?!"

Oh, Lord. The best thing to do is just shut this thing off and try to do one of the dozen or so "productive" things I'd planned to do this week. Unfortunately, one of the two books I'd bought to read during my vacation, "Shadow of the Dolls," I finished the same day that I bought it. Such is the curse of trashy literature. I've been obsessed with "Valley of the Dolls" for years.

I did notice that they're running a poetry contest to tie in with the publication -- see, now, there's something creative for me to do!

lisamcc at 10:17 a.m.



0 comments so far

previous | next