1999-12-30

Decadent Reality

decadent?

Two terms have been applied to me in the past 24 hours, both of which make no sense, to me, anyway.

First off, while taking a peek into my guestbook, I noticed that twice my diary was complimented as being "a good dose of reality." This is amazing to me, as anyone who knows me well can tell you that large portions of my day-to-day routine are spent in complete avoidance of reality ("Oh, you needed that requisition now? Okay, just lemme finish up this game of Freecell."). For you Gen-Xers out there, here's a visual: you know the part in the opening credits of "Laverne & Shirley" (I'm talking Old School L&S, when they were still in Milwaukee, word) where scores of Shotz beer bottles clink along the conveyer belt uncapped, while our girls just stare off into space? That is my "reality."

The second baffling term tossed my way came from Kev, who observed me heading towards the bathroom last night with a bottle of Country Apple Bath Salts, an old issue of Ben Is Dead, and a Cadbury bar. "Wow," he said, "how decadent." Decadent? After this bath, I had set out my "L'eggo my Eggo" pajamas and a pair of tube socks to slither into. Rrowwr. Oh, yeah, baby...I'm all over decadent. Reality, too.

lisamcc at 09:28:39



0 comments so far

previous | next