1999-12-14

Oh Christmas Tree...

Yeeehaw!  C'mere an' sit on Santa's lap, li'l buckaroo!

I felt the first stirrings of what could possibly be called the Christmas Spirit last night, while decorating our tree. It's a nice'un this year...lots of branches.

There's one thing that I've just never been able to comprehend, and that's a coordinated, designer, Martha-Stewart type tree with alternating balls and ribbons. What the hell fun is that? You want that kind of tree, go stand outside of Macy's or somewhere and get an eyefull. No, my tree is about nostalgia. My tree is about vintage Jordan Marsh glass ornaments mixed in with sloppily-painted and pasted doodads made while I was a Girl Scout, mixed in with more recent ornaments we've acquired since we've been together. Every ornament should tell a story, every ornament should evoke some kind of pleasant memory. You can't get that out of a color-coordinated tree: "Oh, remember these alternating crystal icicles with the matte-finished burgundy and gold bulbs? Wasn't that a great Christmas...and the one before that, and the one before that?" Stupid. I much prefer the fun I have hanging my macrame wreath from '78 alongside the KISS commemorative ornament I got for a Hanukkah present 3 years ago from Marla. Gets people talking.

lisamcc at 12:14:35



0 comments so far

previous | next