1999-12-10

She's crafty...

you LIKE me!  you really LIKE me!

So I went to check on my webring status this morning, and I'm in the 25 Most Active Sites list! Woohoo! I know I said before that I wasn't into popularity contests, but allow me my spasm of happiness, okay? Very seldom do I feel like The Girl With The Most Cake, even if I am on the very bottom of said list. At any rate, I tend to think that this was Lexi's doing, since she linked me fromThe Noise's message board, so if Lexi is tuning in this morning - I thank you from the bottom of my dork heart. I'm popular! Wheee!

Okay, saccharine outbursts aside, yesterday I attempted to do some Christmas shopping. Nothing brings out the miserly misanthrope in me than a jaunt down Newbury Street at the height of Holiday Mania. I'm amazed at what these foofy crafty folk think they can get away with...hell, what they do get away with...in terms of stuffing a bunch of dead flowers in tinted cheesecloth wrapped in spraypainted raffia, calling them "sachets," and charging a hefty $10.50 apiece, so Tyler's girlfriend's underwear drawer will smell nice for a week. I hate crafts. I do them myself and I hate them. All the art snobs at Pearl look at me and my basket of glue sticks and I know what they're thinking...that I don't have the dedication to be a REAL artist, so I'm off to peddle my wares at the annual Christmas Bazaar at the Parish Hall of Our Lady of Perpetual Clothespin Reindeer. Believe you me, I know the score. There's one personality flaw that I can blame my mother for, and it's the compulsive urge to Do Crafts.

lisamcc at 09:15:02



0 comments so far

previous | next