1999-10-25

Little House in JP

Holly Hobbie, Original Riot Grrl

Last night I got sucked into this "E!" biography on Melissa Gilbert, and I was immediately transported back to the mid-70's, when it was very fashionable to dress like a pioneer girl. My mom got totally into it, and made my sister and I matching calico dresses and bonnets, which we wore for Easter Sunday, 1975. There we were posed in front of the house, in stunning contrast with my father's hulking blue Impala and my brother's slacker track jacket & cords.

What was up with that? The "E!" show speculated that the unprecedented success of "Little House on the Prairie" was attributable to the nation's weariness with Watergate. Back to covered wagons and Michael Landon!

I still have my Holly Hobbie doll. My militant feminist neighbor down the street thinks that's "totally queer." I haven't decided whether or not she means that literally...

My webpage

lisamcc at 09:58:06



0 comments so far

previous | next