2007-07-11

All the flickering lights...

I am leaning rather heavily on the Crowded House catalog lately. It's like a nice, soft blankie that I can wrap around my head when things are going nine kinds of shitty. I usually don't like to play those 10 Rekkids On A Desert Island types of games, but I can pretty much state with 112% certainty that I could not live without the "Temple of Low Men" album, and that's a goddamn FACT.

Ad Frank and I have had a years-long feud regarding House versus Enz. He is solidly in the latter camp, whereas I got nothing against Split Enz, truly; it's just that - well - being a bit younger than Ad, I am just more familiar with the House canon. I am reminded of a night, back in the heady late 90's, where I semi-drunkenly (oh, hell, VERY drunkenly) heckled Mr. Frank as he was doing a solo set: "Hey AD, why dontcha playsum CROWDED HOUSE?!"

Ad, in his inimitable Ad Frank style, drily replied into his mic: "Why don't you fuck right off, McColgan?"

It's all good, really. It's nothing but love between me and Ad. Sweet, sweet, caustic love.

Recently I've gained an even greater appreciation for these songs, after having taught myself to play a couple for this little Finn Tribute that a couple of my pals (Hugh and Leo) and I threw together last week. Even the ones that seemed like they were going to be the easiest to figure out drove me to tears. I'll be the first to admit that I am a shitty, shitty guitarist. But it was comforting, in a way, to have Hugh come up to me after I was done playing to ask for my "cheat sheet" of tabs for "Better Be Home Soon."

I played through the whole thing! And I didn't choke!

lisamcc at 5:54 p.m.



0 comments so far

previous | next