2006-02-01

Nocturnal Cereal Eating

There's a trait specific to McColgans (or at least the McColgans hailing from south suburban Boston). I do not speak here of our Christly huge foreheads, nor of our tendency to rub our feet together when tired or nervous.

No, this is something far more difficult to explain, other than to call it: Nocturnal Cereal Eating.

Chickens, I can come home from an evening out, having had a sumptuous three-course meal, and STILL plop on the couch in my jammies with an ENORMOUS bowl of cereal. Just tonight I had pizza for dinner, then a couple of cookies, and not 90 minutes later I was halfway through a bowl of "Oatmeal Squares," humming to myself happily as I re-read Squeaky Fromme's biography for the fifty-sixth time. There's no way I could actually be HUNGRY. I just want cereal. Like, wicked bad.

The thing is -- I'm not particularly big on eating cereal in the morning. I'll choke it down almost resentfully. Cereal just TASTES BETTER at quarter-to-ten at night.

lisamcc at 9:42 p.m.



4 comments so far
Toddlington
2006-02-03 02:11:29
Okay, but what the fuck with Squeaky Fromme's biography? I've never heard of such a thing. Is it really that good? Who wrote it? I only recently finally read Helter Skelter, and it freaked me out on such a pure, subconscious level that I awoke one night at 4am and reached for Ben but called out, "Charlie?" THAT episode freaked me out so badly I didn't sleep for the rest of the night.
-------------------------------

gimpy olde lady
2006-02-02 21:13:37
See? And you just thought you were raised weird-ly...just last night I, myself, had a huge bowl of maple flavored wheat squares, with sliced banana...yum...
-------------------------------

Jess
2006-02-01 22:09:03
Dude, I am the same way. Only, it's all about the frosted mini-wheats. I ate most of a box of 'em yesterday.
-------------------------------

beatpoetgrrl
2006-02-01 22:49:30
me too, but substitute cinnamon toast crunch. and actually, my whole family does it. weird.
-------------------------------

previous | next