2005-08-29

Happy Crack Experiment

Since it's been pretty quiet at work in the days leading up to a Major Holiday Weekend, I decided to conduct an experiment.

Some time ago (last fall, to be precise) I bought a pair of tshirts for my and Paula's birthdays:

I figured - my boss wasn't around, nobody IMPORTANT was coming by. I'll wear this shirt and see what people say.

I went about an hour before anyone commented on it, and naturally the first person to say something was John Michael, my enabler and sparring partner on all things pop culture. (Really. We want to have our own show on cable access, where the two of us would just rip through piles of crappy magazines and bitch about how much we hate Tara Reid. I really believe that there's an audience for this.)

At any rate, he looked at my shirt and said, "THAT...is DISGUSTING."

"But is it REALLY disgusting, or are you just attaching YOUR values to the statement, John Michael? Hmmmm? Don't you think that maybe YOU'RE disgusting?"

"Oh, whatever. Like this company doesn't know what they're doing by putting that on a tshirt."

The only other comment was from the enormously mellow guy in accounting. I mean it. Nothing gets him riled up. He just stared at it for a second and then said: "Wow. Funny shirt."

lisamcc at 4:33 p.m.



0 comments so far

previous | next