2005-05-02

Walkin' in LA, pahht FIVE

Day 4, Los Angeles - Thursday evenings, admission to the Autry Museum of the American West is free.

Several weeks before my trip, Hosler mentioned to me that there was a "Gene Autry Museum" in Los Angeles. I fully expected some strange house full of old Autry memorabilia, and while the museum does have a fair amount of ephemera and kitsch, it's actually an astonishingly LARGE complex housing a number of different exhibits ranging from the Pueblo Revolt of the 1600's to the romanticized "cowboy art" of Charles M. Russell.

Of course, the place was not without its Major Cheese Factor, and we found it in the "Imagination Gallery," where we made Aaron the star of his very own DIY "Western shoot-em-up." What we saw:

What Aaron saw:

(If I haven't extolled the many virtues of Mr. Aaron Tap, I shall do so now. He's an excellent sport, what with having to deal with a full week of Paula and I making fart noises at each other while pretty much forcing him to do dumb things for the sole purpose of entertaining us. He's tops, he is.)

All told, I was most impressed with the "Gene Autry Museum," and I do recommend it. The gift shop is also the TITS.

From there, we made good on our promise to drag Aaron to Astroburger. I think he was pretty happy about it, really, because what's NOT to love about Astroburger?

to be continued....

lisamcc at 8:38 p.m.



2 comments so far
Paula
2005-05-02 22:42:55
Oh my GOD- dude- there IS another Astroburger! I don't know why it's not on the web site. It's on Santa Monica in W. Hollywood. It's a little smaller but it looks cooler from the outside. The bad news is that it's not any closer to our house than the other one is...but still, the more Astro the better.
-------------------------------

Tina
2005-05-05 11:54:07
I had students in my room for academic support working quietly on their respective assignments. I saw the 'What we saw', 'What Aaron saw' and laughed hysterically. I think they think I'm crazy.
-------------------------------

previous | next