2004-07-04

Misc.

Well, happy Independence Day.

I'm doing nothing today, really, and I'm actually quite happy about it. For years, I was one of those sorts that absolutely had to be doing something on the 4th of July....I mean just HAD TO. I think maybe it stems from being so unpopular in junior high, or something.

So the houseboy is off taking a walk, and I'm left here with my thoughts, which is rather like walking through a bad neighborhood at 2 AM. To wit:

Was anybody else kind of, like, scared of Madame? I know I was, back when I was a wee tot and completely ignorant of the fact that rich, dirty old broads were funny. I think by the time that Madame became a staple on "Solid Gold," I was over my initial fear. I miss her.

*****

I don't quite remember who in my neighborhood owned this record back in the early 80's, but I remember listening to it at somebody's house and thinking that this was the most evil thing I'd ever heard. I felt an odd mix of revulsion and fascination, truly believing that I had taken my soul to the very brink of suburban satanism. Clandestine adolescent alcohol abuse, bad grades, and blue eyeshadow were sure to follow.

(Oddly enough, the alcohol abuse didn't come until much later, and I was more or less constantly listening to The Smiths.)

Nowadays, I listen to this CD all the time, and I'm particularly fond of putting it on at work, and throwing the horns at my desk, while my coworkers (who generally know me as being more partial to New Wave) ask, incredulous: "Are you listening to the Crue?!"

Fuck yah, dood. "Shout At The Devil" is the best rekkid EVAH.

*****

I made myself into a LEGO:

Go here and do likewise. Be prepared to spend a shocking amount of time here, and don't plan on getting anything work-related done.

lisamcc at 12:22 p.m.



1 comments so far
myra
2004-07-04 23:29:40
where did you ever find that madam picture/??? that was the FUNNIEST puppet skit EVER!!!! did you know he was buried with that puppet? i heard he got AIDS from having "maritals" with it.
-------------------------------

previous | next