2004-06-02

Perfect.

A friend of mine on the Noise Board (where I can typically be found most days, engaging in all sorts of virtual nonsense with all sorts of strange people) brought this to my attention:

I love this picture so hard; I have it as my desktop wallpaper at work. It fills me with a blissful schadenfreude the likes of which I've not experienced before or since.

There are so many directions one can go with this. It's a prom, obviously, and I would venture to guess it's anywhere between '83 and '87.

What I particularly love about it is the Whitman's Sampler-like cross section of the lower rungs of the high school caste system. Notice, too, that this is "Table 15," probably shoved in a rear corner as an afterthought, and populated strictly with those kids who didn't have a posse of their own with which to hold an entire table. No, these are the free agents, if you will. The two metal chicks (ten dollars sez the surly miss on the far right is named "Sherry") who've brought their 22-year-old Ibanez-shredding boyfriends from the RATT cover band that plays every Wednesday night at Schrautty's. The editor of the "literary magazine" (in teal, center), and the palpably miserable little man on the far left.....it's all just so marvelous and perfect.

Your project today, chickens, is to tell me what the theme song was that night. Go!

lisamcc at 7:29 a.m.



13 comments so far
dollyllama
2004-06-02 09:04:52
I have one SERIOUS question about this photo. Why does the guy to the far right have his hand on BOTH of those girls' shoulders? HMMMMMMM????????
-------------------------------

dec
2004-06-02 09:05:18
oooh..theme song? hmmm..I'm thinking this is 85'...theme song is: 'That's What Friends are For' Also on the nights playlist was a little..'And We Danced' by the Hooters and some slowed down Chicago...'You're The Inspiration'...Not be cruel BUT the girl siting next to the 'larger lady' looks a bit ummm 'special'
-------------------------------

Eva
2004-06-02 09:36:50
Bon Jovi's 'Living on a Prayer'? Van Halen's 'Runnin' With the Devil'? Foreigner's 'Long Long Way From Home'? That picture is killing me over here--those people would not have been out of place at My prom. [shudder]
-------------------------------

Melanie
2004-06-02 10:02:06
My vote's for Journey's "Open Arms", which was our lameass prom song ('86). The Junior Prom I went to that same year (as a friend's date) had Alphaville's "Forever Young," - way cooler if you ask me.
-------------------------------

Jen
2004-06-02 10:09:18
Feel Like Making Love - Bad Company; I Want to Know What Love Is - Foreigner; Love Song - Tesla; When I See You Smile - Bad English; Don't Know What you Got - Cinderella. I bet the Cinderella was the actual theme, but the others were on the ballot when the class of 84 voted.
-------------------------------

Jocelyn
2004-06-02 13:33:28
I'm thinking it MUST have been Billy Squire's "Best Years of Our Lives" from the Fast Times at Ridgemont High soundtrack.
-------------------------------

scottski
2004-06-02 18:53:30
"Owner Of A Lonely Heart", or something equally as retch-inducing. Iggy & the Stooges "Your Pretty Face Is Going To Hell" makes more sense, dunnit? the horror... the ennui... the jerricurls!
-------------------------------

hub
2004-06-03 10:19:00
Am I mistaken, or do the couple on the far left share a family resemblance? Hmmmmmmmmmmm...
-------------------------------

.rur.
2004-06-03 10:29:49
something by flock of seagulls
-------------------------------

elle-emme
2004-06-03 20:50:35
"i just died in your arms tonight" by the cutting crew?
-------------------------------

Lexi
2004-06-06 05:08:10
Ooooof. This just makes my whole insides ache.
-------------------------------

Ladybug
2004-06-08 12:03:40
Turn Me Loose by Loverboy.
-------------------------------

jerrbear
2004-06-21 16:33:31
I have to vote for "Forever Young", just for the horribleness of that concept. The hell of being eternally trapped in The Worst Years of Your Life...
-------------------------------

previous | next