2004-06-01

I don't know what to make of this.

The houseboy and I went to fetch my folks from the airport the other day. They'd been doing the Retiree Boogie out at their digs in scenic Sebring, FL. As we were driving them back, my dad suddenly says, "Oh, say, Lees. Your mum and I were trying to figure this out the other night."

"Mmm?"

"That song that Richard Harris did. It was the only big hit he had, you know that one there...that one about the cake...."

"'MacArthur Park.'"

"THAT'S the one, yeah. Who wrote that? 'Cos your mum and I, we figured you'd know that."

"...."

"You don't know."

"I have that record at home. I can --"

"You know who'd know, probably, is Paula. I'll giver a call there tomorrow."

lisamcc at 6:49 p.m.



3 comments so far
scott
2004-06-01 20:58:53
parents. never. listen. you could be ninety, and it'd be the same thing. they'll second guess us putting the Depends on 'em.
-------------------------------

Tom
2004-06-02 03:40:46
Were your folks searching for info on this song because they actually liked it? Or was it more of a cerebral itch - they just HAD TO KNOW after being reminded of it by some bumper sticker or fast food jingle? That stupid piece - both the original and cover - still figures prominantly in my more lurid nightmares. Aside from its complete lack of musical merit, who the hell leaves baked goods out in the weather unprotected and then sings about the predictable consequences in a lamenting fashion? What the hell did he expect from such a poor culinary practice?
-------------------------------

corin
2004-06-08 15:27:04
That would be Mr. Jimmy Webb, hero of songwriters, also wrote Wichita Lineman, By The Time I Get To Pheonix, Up Up & Away and others. Some people (the Boo radleys) reckon him to be God. that would make the Webb Brothers the sons of God and I think they need to release a second album before we proclaim them that.
-------------------------------

previous | next