2004-03-18

Okay, damn it.

All right, damn it.

Every year, we say the same thing, and every year, we don't do it. But this year, by God, Paula and I are having our prom.

Longtime readers of this diary are probably saying "Yeah, right," to which I will admit, however grudgingly, that yes, you have heard this story many, many times, but Paula and I have come to the conclusion that the planets are finally aligned in our favor, and we have even sat down with our little dayrunners and made plans. PLANS.

Long story short: Paula and I never got to go to a prom. Well, Paula went to some dippy "spring formal" at her school, but as she has pointed out numerous times, and as I -- being the dutiful best friend -- have agreed with her: IT'S NOT THE SAME THING. As for me, my high school did have a bona fide prom, and I did purchase a stunning vintage frock with every anticipation of wearing it to said prom, but it wasn't in the cards, chickens. Know what, though? I still have the dress, and IT STILL FITS.

Nothing and no one's gonna stop us from having our goddamn prom. And you can all come, but you have to dress up.

lisamcc at 9:34 p.m.



1 comments so far
scurvyann
2004-03-19 16:20:16
i wanna come! i wanna come! i wanna come! (even if i hafta wear a DREYSS.) ...do we get to know what the theme song will be, or do we hafta wait?
-------------------------------

previous | next