2003-08-23

I am a VH1 Classic addict

The love affair with VH1 Classic continues. I've been up since 8 this morning, unwashed, chugging lukewarm coffee, just absolutely enraptured.

In my defense, I had to be awake and in the front room because UPS was due to special-weekend-deliver Aaron's birthday present before noon, and I wanted to make sure I got it. I got it, and now it's 9:30, and Corey Hart is telling me "it ain't enough." He could pour me a drink like he pours out his heart. I nod, world-wearily, and have some more coffee.

Chickens, in the last 15 minutes they've played Bonnie Tyler, The Knack, and Go West. Go West! I mean, damn.

I kind of knew this was going to happen. My first exposure to this juggernaut of televised crack happened at Barringer's house last year. We were supposed to stop in briefly to pick up his guitar and then go to rehearsal, and 20 minutes later he practically had to pry me off the couch: "Lees, seriously, we have to go."

"Nuh-nuh-nuh-no....I can't! I can't! It's just -- oh GOD, it's a Human League video! Oh, Jesus God, do you know how long it's been since I've seen this?!"

"Lees....get off my couch, Lees."

As I was writing this, Men At Work's "It's A Mistake" was on. I smiled as I remembered the night my sister and I went to see Colin Hay do a solo show at the Kendall. Tina got tweeked and practically molested him; I have the pictures....somewhere.

Okay, Grace Slick's "All the Machines" was just on. Probably the stupidest song, and accompanying video, ever, but I greeted its airing with a wail of recognition previously reserved for long-lost, mildly dysfunctional relatives.

Another thing about VH1 Classic? They don't play the obvious videos. Like, they played Bananarama, but they played "Shy Boy" and not "Cruel Summer." Now they're playing Madness, but it's "House of Fun" and not "Our House." I could weep, I could. I wanna know who's doing this programming, so I can perform deviant sexual acts on them by way of showing my gratitude. I'm so serious.

lisamcc at 8:27 a.m.



5 comments so far
justvisiting
2003-08-23 16:16:08
You know, I have TiVO and regular cable. I've resisted going digital just for the reason you've cited: I would NEVER stop watching VH1 Classics. Cripes, I've already TiVO'd all ten episodes of "I Love the 70's" on regular VH1...just when I thought it couldn't get any better than "I Love the 80's."
-------------------------------

Lexi
2003-08-23 16:50:48
I do not. Have. Enough. Cable. Clearly. I'm coming over with wine coolers and accessories made from clear "jelly" plastic.
-------------------------------

Lily
2003-08-24 00:06:48
Hi, I understand how hard it can be to tear oneself away from the day at the TV set, along with the thermos bottle filled with HOT VERY HOT...coffee. I had days like those when I was a young person completely engrossed in the old movies, like the gangster movies, with George Raft,or Humphrey Bogart. I want to find the more recent...just the reruns, if at all possible of "Dead Man's Gun." I have no allowances thus far given to me, for making it on my own these days. I know Lisa has a hard job, and has had some tough times. I have sounded much like an idiot to most on Kris Kristofferson's lists...too long ago to care, but those days also give me strength and courage to move on, and do what one has to do, in order to get on with the gig...which we are all in..together..this world, and the next one too...let's hope. Lily
-------------------------------

Eliz
2003-08-25 12:25:45
I am one with the I Love the 70's addiction! GREAT programming. Hours and hours and hours of rapture! Eliz
-------------------------------

joshua
2003-08-25 18:25:35
lisa! please please please make sure you check out the metal shows on vh-1 classic. if you think seeing a stupid-ass grace slick video is funny, try something from kix, the bulletboys ('smooth up in ya'), bang tango or (god forbid) enuff frickin' z'nuff! watching them makes one realize that all those bands (including the famous ones) were the n'sync and backstreet boys of their time (perfect hair and makeup, stoopid pop songs, synchronized dance moves), minus the creepy fat man in his 40s who secretly wanted to fuck them...
-------------------------------

previous | next