2000-07-31

Visit from the Marquis

MAH-kee

I would've updated yesterday, but I felt like a big pile of ass. You'll soon discover why.

Kev and I played Gracious Hosts� to the one and only Marquis this weekend. We had great fun, indeed, but I'm afraid it all caught up with me Sunday mid-morning, as I lolled on the sofa with my head in my hands, weeping and retching and whining to the Marquis that I'd "hurt the baby bad; I dropped it on its head. Ohhhhhh..."

The Marquis just giggled at me. Hangovers are so quaint.

Before the meltdown, though, it was great. Friday night we went to see The Boy Joys and once again, I had an epiphany, and I didn't even spill beer down my front this time.

Saturday we spent the day at the House of Krebstar, where Madame J had made a full pitcher of her now-infamous Bloody Marys. The gathering was small, but lively.

The Marquis, at this point, was seriously jonesing for an authentic Bah-ston dialect, which I unfortunately was not able to provide (my speaking voice is astonishingly flat, nasal and proper, belying nothing about my place of birth).

What I lack in dropped r's and swallowed o's, however, I more than make up for in terms of bona fide regionalisms, and J and I merrily showered the Marquis with a barrage of classic New England Adolescent Put-Downs�, calling each other, at turns, "wicked queer," "wicked fuckin' gaylord," and several other variations therein. I think he was pleased.

From there, things get hazy. I remember sprawling out in the backyard, upset because Depeche Mode was playing on the stereo yet nobody wanted to dance with me.

On the way home, we got caught up in a midnight Puerto Rican Pride parade. It was lovely and loud. I waved and hooted and hollered at a group perched on the hood of their car. They laughed, and waved and hooted and hollered back, and I suspect now that they were laughing at me: borracha y est�pida chica.

After the Marquis left, I got very sad. I took a bubble bath and read Wuthering Heights, and Kev ordered me a pizza, but I was still sad.

I'm okay now, though. Perky, even. Maybe the Marquis will post some of his pitchahhs.

lisamcc at 16:48:05



0 comments so far

previous | next