2000-07-04

Independence Day

of course that's me...

Today (July 4, 2000) is a big day for me. My own personal Independence Day, if you will. Today I have decided to stop apologizing for loving Pop Culture.

All through college and graduate school, I was encircled and protected by English Majors. English Majors are an interesting lot; even English Majors who are younger than I seem older, wiser for their calling than I could ever hope to be. In clusters of English Majors I would flit -- from dorm to cafeteria, from cafeteria to library, from library to theater -- accepted.

A lot of times, I think that my associates view me with amused detachment, like you would in regards to a Scottie dog wearing a tam o�shanter, like, �Oh, isn�t she funny with her PEZ dispensers and her Thermos bottles and her VH-1 fixation; we read Camus.� There are many, many days when I sit in my apartment and think: �Aren�t I little old to be living like this? Shouldn�t I stop using milk crates as bookshelves and put my Pee Wee Herman toys in the closet? Maybe I should try to read all the way through an Ayn Rand novel.� But then VH-1 beckons: there�s a weekend-long �Teen Idols� marathon on.

When Kev and I were first a-courtin�, I warned him: �Love me, love my stuff.� And to his credit, he never seems embarrassed by the proliferation of comic books, action figures and miniature shrines to all things 20th Century Pop that I surround myself with at all times. Sometimes, though, I find myself apologizing to him: �I�m sorry our house is so tacky.�

Today, though, this changes: I love my stuff, I love watching television, I love that I know all the names of the members of *NSYNC. So there.

lisamcc at 13:41:25



0 comments so far

previous | next