2000-05-21

A Touch of Class

Yeehaw!

They say things tend to happen in 3's.

It's true, because now I'm on this white trash kick.

Incident #1 - while coordinating costumes for The Who's little-known mini-opera A Quick One While He's Away (which Boston Rock Opera put on as part of a benefit for our pal Mikey Dee.), the producer of the show and I decided to attire the cast in "white trash" gear: housecoats, beer-plant uniform shirts, rubber thong sandals, and pink plastic hair curlers. As I watch from backstage, it occurs to me that half of the outfits onstage come from my own closet.

Incident #2 - An email from the Marquis (based on a fantasy I have about leaving my many and varied theatrical responsibilities behind and running off to live in a trailer park and work in a Dairy Queen):

The cinderblocks LOVE the morning spring light over thar, doncha thank? They're doin' fahn. MAHTEE fahn...Will you promise not to change out of your blue-checked waitress uniform and red-checked apron when you come home to cook a casserole with potato chips on top if I promise to sprout a beer gut as I scan the want ads for "Skilled Labor" jobs all day long? Admit it. It's a purty picture. A MAHTEE purty picture.

Incident #3 - in a fit of work/stress-related giddiness, my officemate Kellie and I plan our New Internet Business: a white-trash clothing catalog company called "A Touch of Irony" (based on those lace-piped black tank tops emblazoned with an iron-on transfer of a rose with the slogan A Touch of Class, favored by biker chicks and carnival workers).

Now if you'll pardon me, I think I need to go have another beer...

lisamcc at 00:57:40



0 comments so far

previous | next