2000-05-08

Cleanliness

It's not clean!  Nothing's clean!

Yesterday was hot. Really hot. Like we'd bypassed Spring altogether and went right into August. Yesterday was also the day I'd set aside to do Major Housework. The place was, in a word, nasty, and it would only get nastier if left alone for another week. Weather Advisory be damned, I threw open all of the windows (much to the delight of the cat, who went from window to window yowling in appreciation), and prepared to Clean.

Dig if you will the picture of Yours Truly in cutoffs and a sleeveless Police "Synchronicity" concert tee, on her hands and knees under the kitchen table, scrubbing for dear life with Quarterflash playing in the background. (Yeah, baby, I'm all about the Quarterflash.) But as I'm scrubbing those hard-to-reach places along the baseboards, I notice that the little metal bookshelf that holds my Thermos bottle collection is looking rather dusty. I'm suddenly overcome with the desire to clean the whole shebang, and I mean all of it � soaking the "Superfriends" and "Hector Heathcote" Thermos bottles, wiping down the shelf, and then rearranging all the bottles alphabetically by cartoon. I start to get really excited about doing this, but I know that I have to practice Delayed Gratification�, denying myself the joy of alphabetized Thermos bottles until I've gotten the floor clean. Plus, there are dishes in the sink, which means that I'll have to wash those before I can use the dishpan to soak the bottles. And, then - Oh God - what if there isn't enough detergent? So I'm still scrubbing, but I'm calculating time to go down the street to the convenience store, and realize by the time Operation Thermos Bottle has been completed, I won't have had time to vacuum the kitty litter granules out from between the tiles on the bathroom floor...

Why, yes, I will be accepting gifts of Paxil� over the next several weeks, thank you...

lisamcc at 11:33:57



0 comments so far

previous | next