2000-03-23

Martian Morrissey

L stands for Lisa Loves Morrissey and Marvin!

I Love My Geek-Ass Friends, Part 1

Every now and again, Kev and I go out to Pearl Street Station, in the bustling metropolis of Malden, MA, with our best pals Rick and Jess (from the fabulous Krebstar), to do some hardcore karaoke. We greatly enjoy finding the most unlikely songs in the catalogs, and performing them in dead earnestness. I never tire of getting up there, beer in hand, to sing "To Sir, With Love" to a room full of baffled Maldenites.

Prior to our last jaunt over there, we prepared ourselves for the festivities by drinking Bloody Marys and listening to the Smiths. Someone, probably Rick, observed that Morrissey kinda sounds like Marvin the Martian. That prompted a series of revamped Smiths/Morrissey tunes, lyrics reworked to fit the character of Marvin, like:

Rabbits are nice,

But rabbits can stop you

From blowing up the planets that you want to...

So much fun to work "Illudium Q-36 Explosive Space Modulator" into songs like "How Soon Is Now."

It is to laff.

My geek-ass friends rule.

If I've offended any rabid Morrissey fans out there, sorry. I happen to be one, myself, but what can I say: it was to laff.

lisamcc at 10:53:21



0 comments so far

previous | next