2000-03-20

Winter weight woes

Woowoo!  It's SPRING!

Well, here it is Spring already and in my enthusiasm, I pulled from my closet several kicky little frocks to don once the warmer weather begins in earnest.

They were kicky little frocks on the hangers. They were kicky little frocks on my bod last spring. As of right now, they're anything but kicky.

If I could coax them into getting past my hips, I'm sure they'd kick...a little bit.

Now, I'm standing on the brink of 30; I know that my size 6 days are long gone (if there ever were size 6 days, I'm sure there must have been 2 or 3 back in 1984).

When I'm feeling especially shrill and mock-chipper, I refer to this extra poundage as "happy weight." It's closer to the truth in calling it "lazy-ass rock-n-roll weight," where the only real exercise I get is leaning down past my drum kit to have another sip of beer. I'm such a stereotype.

"But surely," you might say, "you're getting a workout of sorts by playing the drums?" Have you seen me play drums? I'm not exactly Keith Moon.

Yesterday I was at Beantown Zinetown, peddling my wares, when I came to the conclusion that I am an Old Fart (tm). No further explanation is necessary.

lisamcc at 14:33:46



0 comments so far

previous | next