2000-01-03

F2K

look out!  it's the FUTURE!

Well, here we are. The year 2000. The infrastructure has not folded into itself, there have been no bank runs on jumbo-packs of toilet paper, and nothing blew up in any of the world's major cities, save for fireworks (Winner for best overall showy display: Paris. No question about it.).

I admit to freaking out a bit at around 2 minutes of 12, when I made a mad dash for my scapular (if the Rapture came down, I wouldn't suffer the eternal fire, no sir). The next day, Kev looked at me and said, "Now, did you ever once consider that if Jesus did make his appearance last night, I wouldn't have made the final cut, because you didn't share that scapular?"

Today it's about 60 degrees outside. Adding to this sense of being in the wrong way, I walked from the subway stop to work, and realized that I was wearing my Gulf gas attendant workshirt with the name "Lori" embroidered over the right hand pocket, and my Huntington Theatre jacket (which of course has my name stitched onto it). It is with this sense of duality that I begin the day, the year, the decade, the century.

The road to enlightenment is long and difficult, and you should try not to forget snacks and magazines.

lisamcc at 09:25:18



0 comments so far

previous | next