2010-05-13

Day Four

Day Four, and yesterday's pounding, pummeling, neo-Baroque headache is but a dull echo of what it once was. Going to the gym at lunch definitely helped. By day's end, I wanted a little less to throttle anyone who asked me a perfectly legitimate question.

Hoping that was the worst of it. Today I'm feeling oddly "clean," which I suppose is the point of this. Of course, my friend Sam calls this the "Shitting to Win Diet" for a reason, too. Regularity is NOT a problem at this point, boy howdy.

But I feel....unfettered? Decidedly less bogged down? I eat something every 3 hours or so, but calorie-wise, I'm consuming a lot less than when I was eating "three squares." I lost about 25 pounds three years ago eating this way, and have gained 8 of those back in the last 6 months eating the old way, so this shouldn't surprise me. Somehow, it's harder for me to apply the principles I've learned in recovery to eating.

I just don't want to become one of those scary mummy-like people who squawk day in and day out about how AWESOME they feel ALL THE TIME because they EAT SO CLEAN. Like I'm gonna scrutinize every label before eating anything. Or serve up a farina, kale and nutritional yeast "pizza" and claim that I can't tell the difference anymore. If I get that way, you have my permission to smother me. Just make sure it's a hemp pillowcase.

lisamcc at 12:26 p.m.



0 comments so far

previous | next