2008-07-04

Hey, baby - it's the 4th of July...

Some people down the street obviously made a run to New Hampshire (or perhaps South of the Border) because they have been shooting off some serious fireworks for the past 20 minutes or so.

And I'm here in my pajamas, watching the Pops on Channel 4.

I've said it before -- I long ago stopped forcing myself to be out and about on a major holiday. And I very seldom regret this. I did the whole Esplanade thing several years ago once...ONCE. It was the year after Movie Theme King John Williams abdicated his position as conductor and just before That Dreamy Keith Lockhart took over. It was the year we got Marvin Hamlisch and Jon "Bowser" Bauman. In hindsight, this was pretty awesome. At the time, though, I was somewhat...underwhelmed. I'd been sitting there on my blanket with two of my coworkers, under the blazing sun, for about 16 hours, and the experience just cemented what I'd known about myself all along, but wouldn't admit for fear of being thought of as an ill-humored crankypants:

I'm an ill-humored crankypants.

(But usually only in crowds.)

Today, though, was quite nice. A trip down to the ol' hometown to watch the parade, and then over to Whitman to horse around in the pool with several nieces and one nephew.

Yeah....swimming? Oof. It's a good thing I DIDN'T have plans tonight, because I am wicked sore and wicked tired now.

I'm actually a fairly strong swimmer, but don't swim much anymore because me in a bathing suit is not something I try to inflict on too many others. The kids, though, they don't care. They just know that Weird Auntie Lisa is in the pool playing "shark" with 'em.

Which is as good a reason as any to post a video of the Throwing Muses song of the same name. No? Tough darts - here it is, anyway.

<

lisamcc at 9:14 p.m.



1 comments so far
Michael B.
2008-07-10 01:02:05
20 yrs later and I am still in love with K. Hersh. I have you to thank.
-------------------------------

previous | next