2007-10-20

30 Days of More Expectations.

Here I go again with this whole "having expectations" shit...

I saw this trailer and I was all, "Eeeeeeeee!" And then I saw THIS:

...and I squealed some more, and squirmed around in my chair, making little damp spots. And then I called Mish over and made her watch it. "This looks SO SCARY AND AWESOME!"

Yet somehow, I know I'm going to pay an exorbitant wad of cash that I can scant afford to see this on the big screen, and it's going to SUCK. Because, ultimately, this is how it invariably goes for me. I am the poster child for Murphy's Law. We all know what happened with the Spookyworld fiasco. And Mish won't go with me to see "30 Days of Night," ostensibly because she wants to wait for a night when her boyfriend can see it, too, but I suspect it's REALLY because she has now personally experienced the inevitable spectacular letdown that accompanies anything I get excited about. As such, Mish can probably safely assume that "30 Days of Night" will suck, simply because I want to see it WICKED BAD.

I am reminded, too, of how pants-pissingly stoked I was to see "The Blair Witch Project," only to emerge from that fucking deep fried turkey with a splitting headache, coupled with a moral and ethical outrage I hadn't felt since Reagan got re-elected. Apologies to anyone out there who thought it was just the scariest thing ever, but, well...no, I'm not sorry: that movie sucked nine kinds of dirty ass and if you loved it you should be ASHAMED of yourself.

Ugh. I have to go see this. HAVE to.

lisamcc at 7:21 p.m.



5 comments so far
Kristin
2007-10-21 04:17:14
I'm in the same boat about this movie and all scary movies that come out these days w/ the exception of Saw, which was pretty badass! I so badly want to see this one, but will wait patiently, like I do for all movies now, for it to come out on Netflix. It's cheaper and if it sucks I just take the cd out. And the only person I have to sit next to is Matt!
-------------------------------

LisaMcC
2007-10-21 07:30:00
Ah, see -- but therein lies the difference between us: you can "wait patiently." I was shipped out MINUS this particular virtue.
-------------------------------

Stephen
2007-10-21 20:11:15
At least you can be assured it won't be Joe's Apartment.
-------------------------------

Lynette
2007-10-22 21:34:47
..."pants-pissingly stoked"? ..."sucked nine kinds of dirty ass"? If you weren't already married and I didn't love men so much, I'd totally run away with you.
-------------------------------

Honey
2007-10-24 10:52:50
I don't have any expectaions for this movie, because I read the comic book. Great art, but a singular lack of plot. On the other hand, Josh Hartnett makes me feel like a 13 year old, so..
-------------------------------

previous | next