2002-01-05

PSA

My New Year's resolution: I quit drinking.

It's been almost a week now. It fucking sucks about half the time, but the other half is actually pretty okay.

I expect several reactions to this Public Service Announcement, none of which I'm particularly interested in hearing, frankly. I made this decision for reasons I'm simply not ready to discuss right now, either here or by phone or in person. I ask that if you know me personally to please respect the boundaries I am setting up here and just know that I am fine, I'm okay, I didn't kill anyone or get fired or wake up in a puddle of vomit -- mine or anyone else's. I am simply giving my liver a rest, perhaps indefinitely, perhaps not.

Meanwhile, I must rant about the poofy-haired freak who hands out those free daily Metro "newspapers" at Mass. Ave. station every morning. He literally jumps in front of you and shakes the thing in your face. I've taken to grabbing one at the start of my commute in the morning, and even though I hold it up to my chest like a goddamn shield, PoofBoy insists on thrusting another copy at me like it was some kind of salvation. The other morning, exasperated, I literally shrieked at him: "Can you not see that I already have one?!"

Rude? Perhaps. But he's left me alone ever since.

lisamcc at 2:22 p.m.



0 comments so far

previous | next